Back at my desk

I’ve just been ten straight days with Eila.  That’s a longer childcare-free period than any since she was seven months old.  It was tons of fun, and I am quite ready to go back to work tomorrow morning when she goes to camp.

I am golden from the sun.  Eila, who wears sunscreen, is just glowing.  We went to Cobourg to see a friend, the Kawarthas to see relatives, Toronto to see my brother, and finally spent a day at Ontario Place.  The highlight of my trip was being in a canoe again.  The highlight of Eila’s might have been the Free Fall ride at Ontario Place.  She rode it 30 times, no exaggeration — and no queues.  Pics will make it eventually to facebook.  Look for me in your mini-feed.

Not only did I learn on this trip, from my friend MF, that running the car’s air conditioner with the windows open is called a “texas flush,” I learned the much more practical fact, this time from my aunt KD, that sheets with lower thread counts are more comfortable.  Apparently what used to be called Muslin is 100% cotton with a thread count of 180.  It’s crisp and lovely and exactly what I want in a sheet, and I have approximated it today at Ikea:  100% cotton with a 200 thread count.  I am looking forward to going to bed!  The new sheets will be much better than the slippery pieces of 400 thread count crud on which we’ve been lately lying.

Meanwhile I gather from a conversation with cousin Bill that I did not express myself adequately on The Wire.  It is true that Z and I are complaining about its sit-com elements.  It is also true that it is the second best TV we have ever watched, the first being the never-to-be-beaten BBC dramatizations of Tinker, Tailor, Solider, Spy and Smiley’s People.

2 thoughts on “Back at my desk

  1. I’m white, I admit it. Or rather, more bourgeois than I might like — which is what “stuff white people like” is really poking its gentle fun at. I mean, by its standards, I know lots of people of colour who are “white.”

Leave a Reply

