Muh!

I just came across an article I wrote posted on somebody else’s blog with what appeared to be no attribution, and of course I flipped out, until I noticed that he hadn’t copied the entire article, and at the bottom of what he had copied he’d linked the words “from here” to the full article on a scholarly website where, of course, my name appears prominently.  Oh whew.  Oh that’s okay then.  It’s not a case of plagiarism at all, it’s a case of careless referencing.

But my goodness the two look a lot like one another, don’t they?

While I’ve got your attention, can anybody tell me why wine can’t breathe in the glass?  Andy wants to know.

5 thoughts on “Muh!

  1. um, sorry for the less than totally obvious citation. the passage was in blockquotes, and as you mention source attributed, but i agree it could be better.

    fixed for now. happy to delete. (it was some time ago, in teh process of a reading group – see comments).

  2. No worries. I could see it was an oversight as soon as I looked closely. I only posted on it because I’m interested the varieties of carelessness that reveal the contours of the zeitgeist.

    Also I thought you might be a jerk, which you’re obviously not.

  3. it can breathe in the glass, in fact it “aerates” faster that way, and also through pouring. the issue i think is that you want the bottle of wine to aerate at the same time. but wine is my weak foodie spot so maybe someone else can chime in.

  4. At times depending on the wine you may find a small amount of sediment or silt in the bottle, (hence the inward curvature of the bottles underside) by allowing the wine to “breath” this will drop to the bottom of the bottle and not be pored into the glass. More often than not these days this is a non issue as the bottle will almost never contain sediment however it has become an ingrained part of drinking it, particularly red wines.

Leave a Reply

