Misc

Often on the walk home from school Eila will make up a little poem. Today’s was: “Tickle you in the morning/ And in the afternoon/ Tickle you in the night time/ Because you’re a baboon!” Not bad, eh?

She remains, however, entirely unable to grasp the rudiments of parliamentary goverment, and keeps asking me how I enjoyed the Green Party. “Was it fun, mummy? Why didn’t you take me?”

On another note, though I’ve always known that Magdelene College was pronounced maudlin, I was delighted to learn from watching one of the 7Up movies the other night that Marlborough is pronounced mawlbra.

15 thoughts on “Misc

  1. Pom — supposedly from “property of her majesty,” but that is almost certainly apocryphal. English. We colonials do the Rs in different voices.

  2. Obviously Eila understands the rudiments of Parliamentary government, in so far as you have made yourself clear to her on the subject. What is happening is that she is just playing around, teasing you (in case you didn’t know).

  3. Maybe so Sandor!

    Now Meg, let me get this straight. We Canadians have always said Mar-ul-burrow. I thought I’d heard Americans say that too. But the English on 7Up say Mawl-bra — and these are the snootiest of the English, the ones who are planning to go there. American Southerners presumably also say Mawl-bra. Which leaves me confused, in the mid-Atlantic (where in any case I have probably belonged every since I discovered that Worchestershire was pronounced Wooster, or, as Z likes to pronounce it “wuh”).

  4. Dan and I always had fights about this that went something the following:

    Esque: “It’s Whuh-stuh-shurr!!”

    Dan: “But look! It ends in shy-err. Shy. Err. How could anyone possibly get ‘shurr’ out of that?”

    Esque: “Got me. But it’s whuh-stuh-shurr!”

    Dan: “People who say that are stupid. I’m going to pronounce it wor-chest-er-shy-err, because that’s what it !@#$ing *says*!”

    Esque: “But it’s … oh, never mind.”

  5. We so need an independent British arbiter! Between Dan’s long (wor-chest-er-shy-er) and Z’s short (whuh), we have two middles: esque’s whuh-stuh-shuh and my wooster (pronounced, as Wodehouse readers know, wus-ter). So which, or wha, or wtf (depending on your idiom) ought it to be?

    Not to mention:
    1. That Z and Dan have obviously felt exactly the same way, only they’ve expressed it differently.
    2. That Elvis and Jack are both in problem avoidance mode.
    And 3. That Wodehouse is pronounced Woodhouse.

  6. I work in a bar mmmkay, Wur shur shur is right, The bartender is always right, especially since most bar clientele pronounce it wshiahuansiodmcm;cm;d by the end of the night. How do you like my “problem avoidance” logic now?

  7. Well, I wish I was here to report I too am reading Nabakov, or even that, after my 6th attempt, I’d made it through Gravity’s Rainbow.

    At first, I was feeling very knee-jerk at the accusation of problem avoidance. But, I realize now I can’t deny it.

    See, I’m reading Bernard Cornwall Anglo-Saxon books ATM. (Is it BERNard or BerNARD? Is it Cornwall or Cornole? My bad, that was low.)

    Anyway, I’m having to read place names, for which the guide prefacing the books gives modern equivalents. Various possible pronunciations – modern and Anglo-Saxon – bounce around in my head as my eyes go over the words; sadly, sometimes my lips move. :(

    Consider these examples: Scireburnan (=Sherborne), Thornsæta (=Dorset), Bađum (=Bath)
    (apologies if the special characters do not show).

  8. Sorry Jack! That “problem avoidance” comment was just me fooling around (and I should say the same to Elvis). I’m always trying to convince people that every word that comes out of my mouth is a joke. They never believe me, but on some level it’s true. Which is the same as saying I live my whole life in “problem avoidance” mode. I really do. It’s my MO. Ignore ’em until they go away. Then have a laugh.

    English place names are made wonderful fun of in The Book of Liff.

Leave a Reply

